English Hindi


Politics & War

Famous Awardees

Lal Krishna Advani

Lal Krishna Advani
  • Lal Krishna Advani (born 8 November 1927) is an Indian politician who served as the 7th Deputy Prime Minister of India from 2002 to 2004 under Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
  • Advani also served as Minister of Home Affairs in the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance government from 1998 to 2004.
  • L. K. Advani was born in Karachi in a Hindu Sindhi family of businessmen to parents Kishanchand D. Advani and Gyani Devi.
  • He completed his early schooling from Saint Patrick’s High School, Karachi, and then enrolled in Government College Hyderabad, Sindh.
  • His family migrated to India during Partition and settled down in Bombay, where he graduated in Law from the Government Law College of the Bombay University.
  • L. K. Advani married Kamla Advani (1932–2017) in February 1965. He has a son, Jayant, and a daughter, Pratibha.
  • Advani joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) in 1941 as a 14-year-old boy. He became a pracharak (full-time worker) of the Karachi branch and developed several shakhas there.
  • Advani became a member of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh. He was appointed as the secretary to S. S. Bhandari, then General Secretary of the Jana Sangh in Rajasthan.
  • He soon became the General Secretary and, later, President of the Delhi unit of the Jana Sangh
  • He became a member of the Rajya Sabha from Delhi for the six-year tenure from 1970. After serving various positions in the Jana Sangh, he became its President in 1973 at the Kanpur session of the party working committee.
  • He was a Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat from 1976 to 1982. After the Indira Gandhi’s Emergency, the Jana Sangh and many other opposition parties merged into the Janata Party. Advani and colleague Atal Bihari Vajpayee fought the Lok Sabha Elections of 1977 as members of the Janata Party.
  • Morarji Desai became the Prime Minister of India, Advani became the Minister of Information and Broadcasting and Vajpayee became the Foreign Minister in Janata party.
  • The erstwhile members of the Jana Sangh quit the Janata Party and formed the new Bharatiya Janata Party. Advani became a prominent leader of the newly founded BJP and represented the party in the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh for two terms beginning in 1982.
  • BJP won only two Lok Sabha seats in the elections of 1984. Advani was appointed party president, and the BJP returned to the hardline Hindutva of its predecessor.
  • Under Advani, the BJP became the political face of the Ram Janmabhoomi campaign. In the early 1980s, the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) had begun a movement for the construction of a temple dedicated to the Hindu deity Rama at the site of the Babri Masjid in Ayodhya.
  • In the general elections of 1989. The support of the BJP, with its tally of 86 seats.
  • Advani assumed the office of Home Minister and was later elevated to the position of Deputy Prime Minister. The NDA government lasted for its full term of five years till 2004, the only non-Congress government to do so.
  • As elections approached in 2004, Advani was supremely confident and conducted an aggressive campaign where he claimed the Congress Party would not get even 100 seats.
  • The BJP suffered a defeat in the general elections held in 2004 and was forced to sit in the opposition
  • Vajpayee retired from active politics after the 2004 defeat, putting Advani to the forefront of the BJP. Advani became Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha from 2004 to 2009.
  • Indian National Congress and its allies won the 2009 general elections, allowing incumbent Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to continue in office. Following the defeat in the elections, L. K. Advani paved the way for Sushma Swaraj to become the Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha.
  • Advani unexpectedly resigned from all his posts in the BJP on 10 June 2013 following the appointment of Narendra Modi as the head of the electoral campaign of BJP for the 2014 elections on 9 June 2013.
  • In 2014, Advani joined the Marg Darshak Mandal of the BJP along with Murli Manohar Joshi and Atal Bihari Vajpayee.